LibGuides: Social Studies: Canadian Identity

Citing

Use Noodle Tools to create bibliographies using MLA or APA style (use APA style except for English classes). Click on the icon above. If you have not created a Noodle Tools account talk to your teacher or the Librarian.

Click on How to Create a Reference Page for detailed instructions. Also look below for a series of videos.

Academic Honesty Policy (April 2022)

How to Create a Reference Page using Noodle Tools
How to create a Reference Page using Noodle Tools.

A Series of Videos on how to cite various reference using Noodle Tools

Use Bibme to create bibliographies using MLA or APA style (use APA except for English classes). Click on the icon above

Click on How to Create a Reference Page for detailed instructions. Also look below for a series of videos.

How to create a Reference Page
How to create a Reference Page using Bibme. If using this Word document do NOT follow the instructions for Encyclopedia or Online Database articles - Bibme is not doing this correctly. Watch the video below and follow those instructions until Bibme is fixed.

A Series of Videos on how to cite various sources in Bibme

How to Cite a Book in Bibme
How to Cite a Webpage in Bibme
How to Cite a Journal Article in Bibme
How to format a Reference Page in APA Style
How to Cite an Article from an Encyclopedia and an Online Database
A video on how to cite an article from an encyclopedia or online database. Note Bibme needs a bit of modification here so watch the video.
How to Cite an Image in Bibme
If you only used an image from a source here is how to cite it in your Reference page.

Citing Tips - NWMP

Citing Multiple Sources with the Same Author

Search Libraries for Books

Search the Garibaldi Library catalogue for books.

Search the Fraser Valley Regional Library catalogue for books and media.

Encyclopedias and Databases

The Canadian Encyclopedia

Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Search Google Books

Accessing Databases

GSS Library Subjects

Here are some subjects that you can use to assist you with searching the Garibaldi Library catalogue.

The Rebellions
subject:"Red River Rebellion, 1869-1870"
subject:"The Northwest Rebellion (Riel Rebellion), 1885"

Immigration
subject:"Canada - Immigration and Emigration"

The Northwest Mounted Police (RCMP)
subject:"Royal Canadian Mounted Police"

The First Nations/Treaties
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Treaties"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Government Relations"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Reservations"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Social Conditions"
subject:"Native North Americans - British Columbia - Treaties"
subject:"Native North Americans - British Columbia - Government Relations"

Expansion West
subject:"Frontier and Pioneer Life - Canada"
subject:"Canada - Settling the West"
Also, General Canadian history books in 971 to 971.9

The Klondike Gold Rush
subject:"Klondike River Valley (Yukon) - Gold Discoveries"
subject:"Canada - Gold Discoveries"

Development of Education
subject:"Education - Canada - History"
subject:"Education - British Columbia - History"
subject:"Indians of North America - Canada - Education"

Women's Equality/Women's Role
subject:"Indians of North America - Canada - Women"
subject:"Women - Canada - History"
subject:"Women - Canada - New France"
subject:"Women - Canada - Political Activity"
subject:"Women - Canada - Social Conditions"
subject:"Women - Canada - Suffrage"

The Children
subject:"Orphans - Canada - History"
subject:"Child Labour - Canada"

Alaska Boundary Dispute
subject:"Canada - Alaska Boundary Dispute"

Expansion West

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject terms into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Frontier and Pioneer Life - Canada"
subject:"Canada - Settling the West"
Also, General Canadian history books in 971 to 971.9

The following websites are good online resources.

Pioneers and Immigrants - Canada in the Making (Canadiana.org)
A detailed look at Canadian immigration and settlement from 1497 to 1914. Click the dates on the left to access the sections you need. Includes numerous primary sources
Pioneers Head West - Canada a People's History (CBC)
Five articles detailing the settlement of the west.

CPR Resources

CPR Resources
All eight of the CPR resources are provided on a password protected page. See Mr. Thomson or Mr. Silva for the password.
Chinese Labour builds the CPR

NWMP/RCMP

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject term into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Royal Canadian Mounted Police"

The following websites are good online resources.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police - The Canadian Encyclopedia
An overview of the history of the RCMP from The Canadian Encyclopedia.
The RCMP's History - RCMP Official Website
The RCMP's detailed description of their history. Use the links on the left to access the full detail. Don't miss the diary of Commissoner G.A. French - a day by day account of the March West of 1874 (a primary source).
Without Fear, Favour or Affection - Library and Archives Canada
A look at the role of the North West Mounted Police in Canada's history. Particularly useful sections include: On the Job, The Popular Hero, Serving the Nation, and Fighting Crime. Don't miss the links on the left in each of these sections.
A Century of Law - An RBC Letter
A description of the history and role of the RCMP in Canada. This is one of the "RBC Letters", a publication of the Royal Bank of Canada that presents a Canadian perspective on a variety of subjects. The RBC Letter has been in publication since 1920.
The Force in the North - Virtual Museum of Canada
A detailed description of the NWMP/RCMP's role in Canadian history. Accompanied by primary source photos.
The Norwest Mounted Police
A short excerpt about the formation of the NWMP (from the book Canada Revisited)

First Nations Treaties

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject terms into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Treaties"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Government Relations"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Reservations"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Social Conditions"
subject:"Native North Americans - British Columbia - Treaties"
subject:"Native North Americans - British Columbia - Government Relations"

Legacy: Indian Treaty Relationships

This book can be found in the Garibaldi library at 970.5 PRI.

The following websites are good online resources.

Indian Treaties - The Canadian Encyclopedia
A highly detailed treatment of the history of Indian treaties in Canada. Includes a discussion of present day court rulings dealing with the treaties. Note the listing of further links at the bottom of the article.
Treaties with Aboriginal Peoples in Canada - Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
An explanation of both historic and modern day treaties with Aboriginal peoples.
Cede, Yield and Surrender: A History of Indian Treaties in Canada - Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
A description of the history and resulting issues of the Indian Treaties.
A Native Tragedy - CBC: Canada a People's History
Four detailed articles about the destruction of the native way of life on the Plains and the subsequent signing of the Indian treaties.
Aboriginal Treaties - History of Canada Online
Gives a background to the treaties and explains the effects the treaties had on the First Nations people.
Treaty 6 - Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Presents a brief history of the making of Treaty 6, and its effects on the people involved.
Treaty 7: Past and Present - Alberta Online Encyclopedia
Presents a brief history of the making of Treaty 7, and the issues that still resonate in Treaty 7 communities today.
Aboriginals: Treaties and Relations - Canada in the Making (Canadiana.org)
Highly detailed history of treaties with the aboriginal people of Canada starting from 1871. Includes hundreds of primary resources. Click NEXT PAGE at the bottom of each page to continue with the article.
Aboriginal Problems Involving Prairie Settlement - Canada in the Making (Canadiana.org)
Describes the three major problems faced by the Aboriginal people of Canada in the years following Confederation.

The Rebellions

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject terms into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Red River Rebellion, 1869-1870"
subject:"The Northwest Rebellion (Riel Rebellion), 1885"

The following websites are good online resources.

The Riel Rebellions - Canada in the Making (Canadiana.org)
An overview of the two Riel Rebellions, with primary sources.
The Northwest Rebellion - Canada a People's History (CBC)
Several in-depth articles about the Northwest Rebellion.
North-West Rebellion - The Canadian Encyclopedia
An overview of the North-West Rebellion with further links at the bottom of the site.
The Red River Rebellion - The Canadian Encyclopedia
An overview of the Red River Rebellion with further links at the bottom of the site.

Women

Women's Rights - Human Rights in Canada
A timeline with primary source documents of the development of women's rights in Canada. (Provided by the Canadian Human Rights Commission.)

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject terms into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Women"
subject:"Women - Canada - History"
subject:"Women - Canada - New France"
subject:"Women - Canada - Political Activity"
subject:"Women - Canada - Social Conditions"
subject:"Women - Canada - Suffrage"

The following websites are good online resources.

Pierre Berton - Why We Act Like Canadians

Written as a witty series of open letters to an imaginary American friend (Sam - as in "Uncle Sam"), Pierre Berton reaches into his profound knowledge of Canada's history and geography to dissect, praise, explain and occasionally criticize the national character. Why We Act Like Canadians shows just how our history, geography and climate have contributed to a unique "Canadian manner" which, in crossing all regional barriers, asserts a truly Canadian sense of independence. (Berton, 1982, book jacket)

1 - Peace, order and strong government
In Canada you are reminded of the government every day. It parades itself before you. It is not content to be the servant, but will be the master ..... Henry David Thoreau, 1866.
2 - Big Daddy in a scarlet coat
The Police have protected us as the feathers of the bird protect it from the frost of winter. Crowfoot, Blackfoot Chief, 1877
3 - Once a Loyalist
Historically, a Canadian is an American who rejects the revolution. Northrop Frye, 1953
4 - Of kilts and babushkas
You will be better Canadians for being Ukrainians ... Lord Tweedsmuir, 1936
5 - When mercury freezes
Our bracing northern winters will preserve us from the effeminacy whcih naturally steals over the most vigorous races when under the relaxing influence of tropical or even generally mild and genial skies. Globe, Toronto, 1869
6 - The solemn land
A large and lonely land
Under a lonely sky
Save for the friendly stars;
A land not to be wooed in a day
But by a long courting.
Thomas Saundrs, 1949

Immigration and Ethnic Make-up

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject term into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Canada - Immigration and Emigration"

The following websites are good online resources.

Immigration - The Canadian Encyclopedia
A detailed description of the history of immigration to Canada. Note the numerous links listed at the bottom of the website.
Immigrant Voices - Chinook Multimedia and Canada's Digital Collections
A detailed look at immigration to Canada from 1867 to the present. Use the History and Perspective sections by clicking on the subtopics beside each of the dates. Don't miss the primary sources in the menu on the left as you click through each section.
Moving Here and Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience - Library and Archives Canada
A detailed description of immigration to Canada from 1815 to the 1930's. Click the links on the left to take you to each main section, which are in chronological order. Each main section has sub-sections.
Pioneers and Immigrants: Canada in the Making (Canadiana.org)
A detailed look at Canadian immigration and settlement from 1497 to 1914. Click the dates on the left to access each section. Includes numerous primary sources.
Chinese Immigration to Canada: A Tale of Perseverance - CBC Digital Archives
Thirteen television clips and nine radio clips detailing the difficult history of Chinese immigration to Canada.
Chinese - The Canadian Encyclopedia
An overview of the history of Chinese settlement in Canada. Note the list of further links at the bottom of the site.
Chinese Immigration: CBC News Online
A look at the history of Chinese immigration to Canada and the role of Chinese Canadians in Canada.
The Early Chinese Canadians 1858-1947 - Library and Archives Canada
A detailed look at the history of Chinese Canadians in Canada up until 1947. Click the links on the left in black under The History to access each section.
Across the Generations: A History of the Chinese in Canada - Chinese Canadian National Council and Canada's Digital Collections
Images and text describing Chinese Canadian history.
Blacks - The Canadian Encyclopedia
Describes the history of Black settlement in Canada. Note the list of further links at the bottom of the site.
Many Rivers to Cross: The African-Canadian Experience - The Multicultural History Society of Ontario
An overview of the African-Canadian immigrant experience. Click the image to enter the site.
Black Loyalists: Our History, Our People - Canada's Digital Collections
A detailed overview of the history of Black Loyalist settlement in Canada. Click the links in the left menu to get to each main section. Click the right arrow to go the the various sub-sections. Note primary sources in the menu on the right as you go through the site.
Black History Canada - The Historica Dominion Institute
Outlines the history of Black immigration and settlement and provides many links to further sites on each topic. Click the images in the menu and the menu items underneath the images to view the main sections.
Submit more links please!
If you find excellent links detailing the experience of other ethnic groups, please submit them in the Submit New Link box at the top of this page.

Gold Rushes - Klondike, Cariboo and Fraser

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject terms into the catalogue search box.

subject:"KLONDIKE RIVER VALLEY YUKON-GOLD DISCOVERIES."
subject:"CARIBOO (B.C. : REGIONAL DISTRICT) - GOLD DISCOVERIES."
subject:"FRASER RIVER VALLEY (B.C.) - GOLD DISCOVERIES."

The following websites are good online resources.

The Klondike Gold Rush - The Making of Canada (Canadiana.org)
A short overview of the Klondike Gold rush and its effects.
Fraser River Gold Rush
From "The Langley Story Illustrated", by Donald E. White.

Education

Search the GSS Library catalogue for print resources. Copy and paste the following subject terms into the catalogue search box.

subject:"Education - Canada - History"
subject:"Education - British Columbia - History"
subject:"Native North Americans - Canada - Education"

The following websites are good online resources.

History of Canadian Education - The Canadian Encyclopedia
A detailed look at the history of education in Canada.