This guide gives an overview of how document your sources in research papers, including how to use in-text citations, how to format figures (images) and tables, and how to properly set up your References list (using APA style).
The following links provide information about American Psychological Association (APA) Style. Refer to these sources to ensure that your References page, in-text citations and paper format are perfect!
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides a sample paper written in APA style. OWL provides instructions and guidelines about APA style throughout the paper.
How to Format Your EE and IA's in APA Style
Follow the steps in this video to set up your paper in APA Style. Once your paper is set up, you can write your content. Note 1: For all IB documents, use Arial 11 or 12 font. Note 2: Use Heading 2 for level 2 subtitles - this was not demonstrated in the video. Note 3: Don't use the Running Head in your IB papers.
The following links provide information about Modern Language Association (MLA) Style. Refer to these sources to ensure that your Works Cited page, in-text citations and paper format are perfect!
The MLA Style Center provides a host of free resources for learning MLA style. It offers a quick guide to citing any sourcein MLA, , a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, and sample papers
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides a sample paper written in MLA style. OWL provides instructions and guidelines about MLA style throughout the paper
Use Noodle Tools to create bibliographies using MLA or APA style (use APA style except for English classes). Click on the icon above. If you have not created a Noodle Tools account talk to your teacher or the Librarian.
Click on How to Create a Reference Page for detailed instructions. Also look below for a series of videos.
How to create a Reference Page using Bibme. If using this Word document do NOT follow the instructions for Encyclopedia or Online Database articles - Bibme is not doing this correctly. Watch the video below and follow those instructions until Bibme is fixed.
A Series of Videos on how to cite various sources in Bibme